When you look back at your blog on January 2, 2015, what would you like to see?

I’d like to see 365 posts. Progress. Spontaneity in writing. Forming and putting my ideas down more easily. More lateral thinking. Going places I haven’t gone before — expanding my horizons, surprising myself.

The harder question is “What will I have to overcome to achieve those goals?” I am not as disciplined as I would like to be, but I know that writing is as much discipline and practice as it is getting it right, creating a masterpiece. Right now I have to be content with putting in the practice that will lead me further down the road of authorship.

I like the idea of writing prompts because even when they don’t coincide with what I might normally have in mind, they sidestep that excuse, “I can’t think of anything to write about.” Even if I don’t want to write about the topic, I will be nudged into thinking in ways I might not normally choose, which may lead me in directions I haven’t been before.

I have accepted the challenge, and I will try to be up to it. Perhaps I can become like Sharon O’Brien: “Writing became such a process of discovery that I couldn’t wait to get up in the morning to know what I was going to say.”

