When and where do you do your best thinking? In the bathroom? While running? Just before bed, or first thing in the morning? On the bus? Why do you think that is?

I’m a morning and evening thinker. I schedule active things during the day, beginning mid-morning, and am too busy to think much about what I’m doing. I just do it. I’m a retired teacher, but have found plenty to keep me busy. I like to take courses in subjects I don’t know enough about, or that are new to me. I find that having a set goal is helpful. Writing from prompts forces me to think about a specific topic, which is often something I wouldn’t have chosen. Good brain stretching workout.

I wake up with all sorts of ideas and plans in my head every day. The ideas just seem to be fighting for space. Some succeed to action, some die and are forgotten. I’m also ADD, so my brain fighting with itself is not unusual. I would say that I think most clearly in the evening, which is when I’m writing this.

I also find that I do lots of thinking when I’m doing mundane tasks. My brain seems to keep working on ideas even though I’m not aware of it. In fact, when I’m having a problem I don’t seem able to resolve, often I shelve it knowing that when I return to it, I will probably have more clarity or a possible solution.

When I’m driving, often I like to do so in silence. It’s a good time to reflect on what’s going on in my life, where I should put my efforts, and how I should proceed. Sometimes I pray in the quiet.

At home, I guess partly because of the ADD, I usually don’t work with music playing or the TV going — I feel like it blurs my focus, and I have to work hard on focus! Make no mistake though, I’m often multi-tasking.

