Tags

, , ,

If you could fast forward to a specific date in the future, when would it be?

We have an adopted grandchild. My daughter, as a single parent, adopted him in Houston when she was doing a year of Americorps volunteer work at a private, charitable emergency foster care center —  a series of homes in the same neighborhood. She began fostering her little boy when he was about 6 months old, and when her year was up she decided she really didn’t want to leave him, so began adoption proceedings.

They came to live with us when her little boy was perhaps 18 months old, and moved out when she was earning enough money to support the two of them, about 3 years later. So for quite a while the four of use were a family, and we learned to love him as a special grandchild. Being adopted and of another race, is not an easy path for a child, and when his mom married a man with two children of his own, he had another big change in his life. When they had three more children of their own, life changed again. He has spent a relatively short life adapting to a lot of changes. He is, nevertheless, exceptionally bright, handsome, and has a great sense of humor. He also has “issues” which he’s always working through. Questions, I’m sure, that may never be answered.

So the specific date in time I would like to fast forward to would be his graduation from college, or a few years later to find out what kind of person he ultimately will be. That’s about 13 years from now; God grant that my good health continues so that I arrive at this point, and he becomes the special man I know he can be.

Obviously, I’d like to see what kind of people all of my grandchildren turn into, and how the lives of my own four children develop. But because of raising them, knowing their personalities, values, and morals, and their genetic pool, I feel I can be surer of their progress.

Having said this, I try to live one day at a time. I have found that the “future” does not often turn out anticipated. Besides that, “God” often has something better of different planned for us that we didn’t have in mind. Life can take some unusual twists and turns and be a powerful teacher. One of my favorite sayings is “life is what happens when you had something else planned.” Valuing each day as it comes, and appreciating each moment of the day as unique and precious, I make a concerted and  continuing effort (not always successfully) to not project, but stay in the present.

