Tags

, ,

If you could have a guarantee that one, specific person was reading your blog, who would you want that person to be? Why? What do you want to say to them?

Strange, I hadn’t really thought about that before. I entered the challenge because I am an aspiring writer. I’d like to write a children’s book and get it published “some day”. I’m having a bit of trouble with that because I don’t seem able to come up with ideas that push the borders of children’s literature, as I think many of the successful books that enter the market today do. I’m envious of the clever and totally foreign ideas I see come out of people’s minds and land on paper, only to be illustrated in an equally audacious manner! I’m jealous quite frankly, because I know a lot, and I thought I’d be able to “just do it” if I set my mind and computer to the task. Well, it hasn’t worked out quite the way I planned. Writing children’s books is hard work.

I’ve always written well-enough and sometimes my writing’s been published, but that’s all been non-fiction. For the most part I’ve “just” been a teacher, and while lesson plans should be inventive, they’re certainly not creative or fiction. I’ve taken couple of courses on writing and getting books for children published. Common commands for would-be writers is to read a lot and write a lot. If you don’t have your own ideas, fine, then do free writing, or like I’m doing now, use prompts or story starters. But write!

I’ve learned that I don’t believe in monsters enough to create them. I can’t imagine otherworldly places so I can’t use them for setting. I’ve never enjoyed fantasy or science fiction, so there’s little chance I’m going to find myself on a strange planet, or living with aliens. I can’t create magic spells that turn ink to gold, or invent machines that drop out colorful phrases like gum balls.

So, I have to practice and this blog and this challenge are for me: to take the time every day to write and feel it’s worth it — to give myself permission to follow a dream, to get in touch with my thoughts and ideas more readily, express them, and not toss them in the trash without giving them a chance to live somewhere — in that otherworldly place called cyberspace.

