Tags

, ,

When was the last time you were embarrassed? How do you react to embarrassment?

This is ridiculous. I know I’ve been embarrassed many times, but I just can’t think of the last time.

I suspect age has a lot to do with this. I find that I felt much more embarrassment when I was younger than I have in many years. When one is young, everything is so important, so crucial. Feelings are more significant than reason, and experience hasn’t had the opportunity teach its lessons. When one has been around a while and seen more of life, its ups and downs, real crises and problems, then the things that turned one’s face beet red at 18, no longer have the same effect.

Teens and young adults are very concerned about the self-image they are cultivating. Even if they seem self-assured, they are still developing their personalities. They’re unsure of themselves, and they’re vulnerable. That makes it much more likely they’ll suffer embarrassment.

I have lived long enough to know that people are imperfect and fallible. They will make mistakes — some are serious, some not so much. But knowing that makes it much easier to accept my missteps and mistakes. I’ve also developed an ability to laugh at myself and forgive myself. I’m still learning, and sometimes making mistakes is just part of that process. No embarrassment in that.

