Tags

,

If you could wake up tomorrow and be fluent in any language you don’t currently speak, which would it be? Why? What’s the first thing you do with your new linguistic skills?

Fluency in Spanish would be my goal. Yes, I have taken courses in Spanish in high school, a bit in college, and more recently in adult education courses, but I certainly cannot converse easily in it. There are places I would like to go where Spanish is spoken — Spain in particular, and perhaps Puerto Rico (because it’s close and tropical).

I try to use my limited conversational skills with Spanish-speakers I come in contact with, and some are kind enough to try to converse with me in their language. But there are just so many gaps that prevent me from speaking comfortably and understandably in Spanish. I’ve got a lot of Spanish in my brain, but putting it together coherently is much harder.

My dream is to go to Spain and live there for about a month or more, and really get fluent while traveling to different regions of the country. I think it’s the only way to completely enter another culture.  Historically, I find Spain fascinating, and it would be so wonderful to be able to go there and learn more about the country in it’s own language. That would add a whole new dimension to the “tourism” experience. For me that would feel like a great accomplishment and adventure.

The prompt specified a language I don’t currently speak, but I have no desire to learn  another language when I feel that with more practice with native speakers I could actually become fluent. For historical and artistic reasons I am more Europe oriented that I am to other parts of the world.

Wish me luck that my dream comes true!

