Tags

, ,

Have you ever played in a band? Tell us all about that experience of making music with friends. If you’ve never been in a band, imagine you’re forming a band with some good friends. What instrument do you play in the band and why? What sort of music will you play?

For someone who car barely play the piano, and who has never tried another instrument, this is a tough question. I am not musically talented, and try to avoid singing any place anyone could hear me. I can carry a tune with simple children’s songs and have sung them for years, but believe me, no one would pay to hear me sing.

Chills go down my spine when I hear classical music in person. Whether it’s a quintet, or a whole orchestra, I wonder at how they can be so good, especially in those moments where they are in total harmony and it sounds like one pure note. It’s amazing how a composer and conductor can put all the sounds together with different sections playing different parts at different times, making it sound like one perfectly tuned instrument.

I also wonder at the talent — each of the musicians would sound incredible on his or her own, and as professionals must spend hours a day practicing. Fortunately in recent years their salaries have gone up to match their talents, with annual earnings for the top orchestras ranging from $100,000-$150,000 and more in the top ten symphony orchestras.

If I could play an instrument it would be a cello. I love the sound it makes and the mellow tone a good player pulls from it. That is, of course, a dream.

