Tags

,

A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

My favorite evocative song is “I Heard it Through the Grapevine” by the Temptations (as mentioned in a previous post). It recalls so much of my carefree youth, and the fun I had, the dancing, a college life where choice in music was as important at the textbooks you had to read. It still gives me pure enjoyment every time I hear it.

“The First Time Ever I Saw You Face,” reminds me of my “courtship” with my husband. That was by Roberta Flack, I think — must be one of her best. While over-sentimental now, it was our song, and we looked longingly into each others eyes as it played. (That didn’t last forever!) Now he knows my face too well and I his, and I doubt that he thinks that “…the sun rises in my eyes,” as he may have then. “Lay Lady Lay” falls into the same category. Dylan was special and this particularly popular tune of his evokes romantic moments from a past long passed.

The Beatles White Album came out in 1968, and that was an epiphany, a highly anticipated event, which ultimately marked the end of the Beatles as a group (though I don’t know if we believed that then).  I distinctly remember going into the room of a friend, and with others, listening to the whole two record album and then doing it again. Undercurrent of the Beatles’ declining relationship was not necessarily apparent, but several of the songs are solos or threesome works, with band members fading in and out of the picture during the recording process.

It’s strange how tunes get stuck in your head, too. There must be a part of the brain where they are stored. You can hear music and immediately recall lyrics you haven’t heard in years, can’t you?

