Tags

,

We all have jobs, tasks, and chores that we dislike doing. Tell us all about the least favorite job/task/chore that you get stuck doing routinely. What is it about this duty that you can’t stand?

This is a day late because I have already mentioned in a previous post what my least favorite household task is. I’ve decided to approach it in a different way and let you decide:

The Beast in the Closet

The beast lies in a closet deep
I let him out in fear
Awakening from his long sleep
Will he look up and jeer?

Will he be calm and do his work
As he’s supposed to do?
Or will he leap around and smirk
A beast hard to subdue?

His long neck does not stop his goal
To gobble up and chew
Whatever he swoops down upon
It’s gone, goodbye, adieu.

He growls and pants with glee unleashed
Onto his hunting ground
He purrs relieved to be released
His tether now unbound.

I take him to the dining room
The table is his goal
He eats up every crust and crumb
Deep into the black hole.

To other places we set off
He’s finds bits to pick up
He pauses rarely for a cough
A sneeze or odd hiccup.

I spy a sparkle on the floor
Don’t eat that you monster!
That’s a lost earring I adore
Too late, he’s much faster.

I’ve had it with you, evil goat
You’ll eat most anything
I’ll cut off your horsepower, I gloat
And switch him with a zing.

Back to your lair you monster you
I’ll return one sweet day
When I think I can control you
And me you will obey.

