Tags

, , ,

Sometimes, we act on impulse: it could be something as small as ordering that special dessert on the menu, maybe asking out that cute boy or girl, or as large quitting your job and selling everything you own to become a shepherd in New Zealand. What’s the most crazy, outrageously impulsive thing you’ve ever done? If you’ve never succumbed to temptation, dream a little. If you gave yourself permission to go a little crazy, what would you do?

In my youth I was quite impulsive, but that was a symptom of my age and inexperience. I was and am pretty determined when I have a goal in mind, but age and common sense have tempered my behavior.

Recently, however, I did something impulsive, but not hare-brained. My sister who lives near Tampa, Florida, phoned me with the news that she was going on a three-day/night cruise to the Bahamas with her daughter and family. Her son-in-law had snapped up a special rate he’d found on Disney Cruise Lines. (He’s a Disney member of some sort, so gets special offers.)

I was excited for her and envious. I’ve always wanted to go on a cruise, but my husband won’t even consider it — just not his thing. While talking, I asked if I could go too. She thought that was a terrific idea. Afterwards, I asked my husband if he minded if I went. To my relief, he said “Sure, go.” I think, in truth, he was pleased because he was off the hook for being pushed to go on a cruise. Nevertheless, I was glad he didn’t have a problem with it. I usually try to go to Florida a couple of times a year to visit (I’m retired, she isn’t), so really, we were only going a bit further, weren’t we?

We had a great time and it was wonderful to have time with my sister and her wonderful daughter, her husband, and their two boys

Theship      ScooterVal   Castaway6

While on the the trip, I also made an impulsive decision: when we got off in Nassau to spend the day ashore, I spied motor scooters — a common sight in the islands, but not so much here. I’d never ridden one, but how hard could it be, I thought. It was certainly an adventure, and I wasn’t getting any younger. My sister was easily convinced, and with a 15-minute training period, we set off and had a great two-hour dash around the area.

Acting impulsively can be risky, but in this case, it was certainly worth it!

