Tags

, ,

Have you ever tossed a coin or two into a fountain and made a wish? Did it come true?

Charmed by the 1954 film Three Coins in a Fountain, I could not help but throw coins into the Trevi Fountain when I was in Rome as a college student on tour in 1966. Seeing the Fountain in person was magical, but I have no idea what I wished for or what I expected. I was lucky enough to be in Rome and visiting other spots in Europe, who could as for more?

trevi-fountain_45

To no avail, I have thrown coins in various fountains over the years, but prefer the ones where the fountain is cleaned out periodically and the money is given to some charity. That’s a good outcome.

I also happily give coins to my grandchildren to throw in fountains we encounter on our outings. They enjoy it, and just feel happy to have been allowed to do it. That’s a good thing.

Wishing is passive, it doesn’t represent action. We can wish for many things, but in truth, it isn’t until we do something to reach that goal or desired outcome, that the wish may come true.

