Tags

, , ,

In Reason to Believe,, Bruce Springsteen sings, At the end of every hard-earned day / people find some reason to believe. What’s your reason to believe?

I looked up the lyrics to the whole song since I wanted to understand the meaning of these lines in context. What a weird song! I have trouble liking it and couldn’t relate very well to what he was saying, and the strange situations he conjures up. Under the circumstances he sets up I’d have a hard time finding a reason to believe other than self-delusion.

Some days I wonder what I’m doing here, I lose my sense of purpose and wonder what it’s all for, this thing we call life. It’s hard sometimes to keep going when you don’t know why you’re doing it. Yes, I believe in an afterlife, I believe in good and evil, right and wrong, and to live by the golden rule. My motto is, “Do the next right thing,” That keeps life pretty simple, but it doesn’t mean I always do “right”; I’m normal — I makes excuses for myself, I procrastinate, I’m just plain lazy sometimes. But I am learning that often it really is easier to do what I’m “supposed” to do. Excuses and delaying tactics really don’t solve problems (big and small), and in the end the problem is still there waiting impatiently to be resolved. It’s a little like that game where you hit little heads (or groundhogs?) as quickly as possible when they pop out of holes. When I take each challenge as it arises life is more manageable and more fulfilling: giving help when it is needed or asked for; saying a kind word to someone who needs it; doing the tasks that have to be done even if they’re boring; saying prayers when I’m feeling low — or for someone else who needs them more than I do. At the end of a day when I know I’ve done my best, I can find some reason to believe that my life has meaning no matter how small the deeds I have done, if they were for the good.

People often fill up their lives with busyness, hurrying from place to place, hiding behind a veneer of self-importance and believing they are indispensable either in their work or in other demanding commitment. This enables them to ignore any niggling questions about “why” they are living, “what” their lives mean, “what” part they play in the God’s (or a higher power’s) overall plan for them, for mankind.

I find reason to believe that my life does make a difference to my family, friends, and those I come into contact with regularly. In big and small ways I can impact their lives. So, I just live one day at a time, trying to do the next right thing, and finding contentment and happiness.

 

 

 

 

