Tags

, , , ,

A misused word, a misremembered song lyric, a cream pie that just happened to be there: tell us about a time you (or someone else) said or did something unintentionally funny.

On Sundays in St. Andrews, Scotland, the famed and revered Old Course is closed for golf but open to the public for walking. It’s a delightful experience. Not only is the golf course always in great condition, but the sandy, finely grassed surface is almost cushiony under foot, and the rolling hills are just enough to make the stroll more interesting. One must be careful of the giant bunkers — the biggest and deepest I’ve ever seen. The rough shows off fine grasses and wildflowers blowing in the breeze. Only the think gorse is foreboding; it’s obvious why golfer’s balls ending up there are lost forever!

I hesitate to tell this story because it’s a little risque, but it was done in all innocence, and I didn’t foresee what I was saying when I said it.

We were ambling along the course, and as we passed one of the tees, probably about the 15th, we passed the sign with the hole number and the funny contraption where golfers can clean their balls. I think this must have been right after an Open, because I commented, “Just think, this is where Tiger Woods washed his …..” My daughter and I burst into crying laughter and had to sit down because we were laughing so hard. I can’t remember my husband’s reaction, but he certainly didn’t find it as funny as we did.

Apologies to those who find this offensive. It really was totally unintended, but one of my laughingest memories.

 

 

