Tags

, ,

You’ve been granted the power to predict the future! The catch — each time you use your power, it costs you one day (as in, you’ll live one day less). How would you use this power, if at all?

If using the power meant I’d lose any time alive, no I would not make the sacrifice. If I know a fact from the future, what good does it do me? What if I got an answer I didn’t want to know? My granddaughter is in the beginning stages of being tested for a nerve disorder and while I’d like to know now if she has it, I’d rather take it in my stride, trusting in God’s plan for each of us and his power to give us strength when we need it (if we accept it).

Equating “predict” with seeing what will happen in the future, I see no value in knowing what will occur if I have no power to change it. Besides that, I think living implies dealing with events, feelings, disappointments, and joys on a day-to-day basis. Being present in the here and now changes the future, too. How much would our perception of the present change if we knew what things would come to pass? It is through experiencing a wide a range of emotions that we are formed into the individuals we are. Would predicting the future change how we live? It’s a chance I’d prefer not to make.

Besides that, life throws surprises at you all the time — some good some bad. We see from our own experience and from the news, how people’s lives are changed in an instant by some random event. I always say it’s not what you worry about that gets you, it’s what you don’t see coming that bites you in the posterior. I might decide that I want to know one thing, and I find out what will happen, but I may ask for the wrong knowledge. I could die tomorrow in a car crash, so what good is knowing if my daughter will or won’t get breast cancer?

No, I think that as much as we want to control our lives, the best we can do is to live fully in the present appreciating each moment God gives us and pouring ourselves into those around us, especially family whom we can influence the most.

 

