Tags

, , ,

When was the last time you were completely stumped by a question, a request, or a situation you found yourself in? How did you handle it?

Before I retired from teaching 3 years ago, I was told by a parent of a rising 9th grader that her son was being asked to use Prezi in high school for presentations instead of good old PowerPoint, and a lot of the other students already had experience with it — would I include it into the computer curriculum the following year? Since I wasn’t teaching the following year, all I could do was to pass on the suggestion. To my knowledge (and since I still volunteer at the school) it was never taught.

The other day when I was in for my library aide time, the art teacher asked me if I knew how to use Prezi. This, I thought, is the time to learn. I had tried it briefly before and found it quite difficult, and there are good reasons why, I have now discovered. The whole format and layout are different than anything I’ve worked with before.

I watched three pretty good videos on using it and they were clear and helpful. That doesn’t mean using the program is easy. I began a presentation and have worked for hours on it. I didn’t start with the easiest subject I could have, but since one of the Prezi video instructors put together a presentation in 15 minutes on screen, I thought, sure I can do it now.

Well, as always with all computer programs, it’s never as easy as it seems, and I’ve certainly learned a lot in the past few days. But all the practice (and frustration)  hasn’t been wasted. I think I’ve got it now. The true test: They say if you can teach something to another person, you’ve really learned it, and I think I can do that now. I discovered the glitches in the program, found out how to solve or avoid them, and am getting more proficient as I am finishing it.

You’re never to old to learn. I still get hung up using all the features on my cell phone, but I can still conquer a computer program.

Next geek goals: Python and WordPress II (ed2go).

There are always hurdles to overcome and you never know everything.

