Tags

,

What’s the best present you’ve ever received that was handmade by the giver, not store-bought? Tell us what made it so special.

Thinking about this, my mind recalls all the little presents my children have made for me over the years, particularly when they were young. Everyone has probably received those plaster casts of little hands, photos in frames made from craft sticks, small clay pots made in art class. All are dear, and given with pride and love.

Two items sit near me as I write: books made for me by daughters when they were no longer children, but young adults. One is a handmade scrapbook my oldest daughter made on St. Andrews, Scotland, the home of my heart. (She’s great at scrap-booking.) It includes photos, handwritten commentaries, and even sketches and little watercolor paintings. It is beautiful and made with love.She loves the place, too.

Another daughter, skilled at computer graphic programs, made a “scrapbook” for me for Mother’s Day citing specific incidents in her life, and how I’d helped her, or showed patience or understanding — in a very amusing way. I love re-looking at them from time to time appreciating how well they know me to have produced such personal gifts.

 

