Tags

, , ,

Present-day you meets 10-years-ago you for coffee. Share with your younger self the most challenging thing, the most rewarding thing, and the most fun thing they have to look forward to.

OM = Old Me, YM = Young Me

I don’t get this: Am I supposed to a seer and intimate what the future may be like? a prognosticator? or simply imply things she (me) should be prepared for? or should I tell all so she (me) has no surprises coming?

Coffee I can deal with. That I understand.

OM: “How’s it going with the grandson your daughter adopted in Texas?”

YM:  “Great. He’s a joy and so smart. He’s getting used to us now and it’s fun to have a toddler in the house again. Of course, Kate hopes to move out once she finishes her paralegal certificate and gets a job, but that will be a while yet. Meanwhile she needs the help and she’s doing everything she can do to make extra money while she’s taking her courses.”

OM: “She’s got her future planned pretty well, but I wonder what it will be like when she gets married in a few years, and brings more grandchildren your way.”

“YM: Katie, married? She doesn’t even have a steady man in her life. It may be difficult to find a husband with a child already. That would take a special man.”

OM: “Well, things can happen out of the blue, and I’m sure there’s just the right man for her out there.”

YM: “Well, so far she has only met duds who think she’s crazy for having adopted a child on her own — and is still living at home!”

OM: Don’t worry — you’ll be planning a wedding before you know it.”

YM: “Me, plan a wedding? They sound so complicated and expensive these days, and we are putting one daughter through law school, so I don’t know if marriage is on her radar yet either.”

OM: “Has she met anyone yet? There must be a lot of single, Catholic men with marriage in mind at a Catholic university.”

YM: ‘Well, she did say she spotted this guy at a mixer who was pretty good-looking and I think she’d love to go out with him, but doesn’t think she has a chance.”

OM: “Well, you may be surprised. Children don’t necessarily get married in the order they were born, you know.”

YM: “I can wait. I agree with you though, love can come out of the blue from the least expected place at a time when one isn’t necessarily looking.”

OM: “Do your kids want children when they get married?”

YM: “I think they’d both like several children, but that’s jumping the gun a bit.”

OM: “You may be surprised; no doubt they’ll be looking for men who want children, too. You may me a grandma again sooner than you think.”

YM: “With no marriage in the foreseeable future, I haven’t thought much about that, but, sure, more grandchildren would be great.”

YM: “Hey, it’s been great chatting with you; you’ve made me more curious about the future, when I’ve been living day to day, just keeping up with what needs to be done. In fact, I’m off to pick up Ben at preschool, and I’d better dash or I’ll be late!”

OM: I’ll catch up with you again in ten years. Life is always changing, and in ways you least expect it.

THE END: Ten years ago, I was 56. Two years later my law-school daughter got married after her second year to the cute guy. In March of her last year, they had their first son, and he got to graduate with them, and study for bar exams! All passed. They are now expecting their fifth.

A year later my daughter with the adopted son met a man with two kids (his wife was out of the picture and he’d gotten an annulment), and they got married and promptly produced the first of their own 3 children.

Planning the wedding was great fun in both cases, and we have a great relationship with the in-laws, too.

My son got married a year and a half ago. More to follow, I hope.

The youngest daughter is still searching for Mr. Right, but I’ve learned to expect the unexpected. I think she’ll know it when he comes along!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

