If your life were a movie, what would its soundtrack be like? What songs, instrumental pieces, and other sound effects would be featured on the official soundtrack album?

I’ve certainly had my ups and downs, my highs and lows, successes an failures, as well as times of great sadness and other of incomparable joy. In fact, a life many people can relate to. While I wouldn’t want anyone to think I’m a person with great mood swings (because I’m not), I would choose the 1812 Overture.

The piece moves through a mixture of pastoral and martial themes. It begins with a hymn, a prayer for deliverance and peace. Apparently the Russians gathered en masse in churches praying for divine intervention and deliverance from the French. So the movements of the Overture alternate between prayers and battle cries, advances and retreats, successes and defeats, hope and desperation, and the triumphant echoes of cannon and rejoicing as the French are defeated not by force, but by the brutal, freezing weather.

Life’s most significant moments are often a twist of fate — or an answer to a prayer!

 

