Whether it’s a trashy TV show, extra-pulpy fiction, or nutrient-free candy, write a thank-you note to your guiltiest guilty pleasure.

Mr. Peanut

Mr. Peanut has cast a spell on me. I can’t resist him.

I have an addiction. Mr. Peanut has me in his grips. Everyday without fail I have a peanut butter and jelly (Polaner’s All Fruit) sandwich for lunch. I honestly love it and eat it every day except Sunday, when we have brunch. This has gone on for years now.

Oh, occasionally I have something else to eat; my husband and I enjoy hot soup on the winter time for our lunches together. Otherwise he makes his own lunch and I have my peanut butter and jelly: creamy, natural, mix-the-oil in type, with no salt, additives, sweeteners, chemicals, preservatives or trans fats. And I always spread it on a whole grain bread — as grainy or sprouted as possible.

At the turn of the century, George Washington Carver and his assistants developed over 300 uses for peanuts, but I have my particular favorite. His research, of course, was designed to restore soil ruined by cotton growing, and turn agriculture to more beneficial purposes for marginal farmers. Peanuts just happened to be one of the best crops for his purposes and the people he wanted to serve.

Thank you Mr. Peanut, and (Dr. Carver) for creating a product that’s just plain good and wholesome, naturally.

 

 

