Tags

, ,

If you could be a famous person for a day, who would you be? Why?

I’d like to be Greta van Susteren for a day. I’m watching her right now, and I do most days. I respect the way she presents herself, dresses, maintains a professional  manner, and occasionally shows a sense of humor which relieves her serious, direct manner.

She is highly educated holding not only a JD from Georgetown but also a Master in Law earned a few years later in 1982. Her career in journalism began in 1991 at CNN as a legal analyst and soon had her own prime time show. Her legal reporting of the 2000 presidential election gained for her the American Bar Association’s Presidential Award for Excellence in Journalism. In 2002 she joined Fox News Channel and has hosted On the Record With Rita Van Susteren ever since, with high ratings the whole time.

The fact of the matter is that I’m jealous of Rita. Once upon a time, I wanted to be a lawyer, and I didn’t do it. I like speaking in public and write pretty well, so I think I could appear on television, and argue somewhat intelligently on issues I’d researched. I’m not easily intimidated, so I think I could hold my own. (I’d have to lose weight, though.)

Rita is the only woman on  Fox who dresses like a professional news anchor, always looking business-like and I think that adds weight to her status with the high-level people she gets to interview. (Although Megyn Kelly’s feminine appearance doesn’t seem to effect her incisive interviewing.) I’ve seen her on her remote reports, too, for instance in the dreadful story of Sgt. Andrew Tahmooressi being held prisoner for three months in Mexico, and she maintains her calm, professional demeanor. In her interviews on the border and at the prison she showed how such an accidental turn could have taken place, and as usual, explained the situation carefully and in language that was direct and understandable.

So move over Rita, I’m taking over for a day. I think I’ll enjoy it, but I’ll take any advice you’d share with me.

