Tags

, , , , ,

What do you display on the walls of your home — photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create?

Everything on my walls is personal; family events, places, or artwork from people I know. I like looking at things that hold memories, and bring back good feelings.

Photographs of events, like weddings, tend to be ones I took, so they’re also personal. They are not the posed, eight by tens showing the ideal couple retouched. I have a few groupings of the best photos from the kids’ childhoods, when we were someplace special or they were having a good time. (I’m also a little OCD about pictures hanging straight, and it’s all I can do to stop myself from re-aligning them in other people’s homes and offices.)

A few antique prints, steel engravings from about 150 years ago, of St. Andrews, Scotland, my home away from home, hang in one corner. I have a fondness for prints; they were often used in “travel” books and were the precursor of photos as illustration. Someone, usually the author, would make a drawing of the scene, then the plate maker would etch the drawing onto a steel plate, and then the picture was printed. Many publications relied on woodcuts for printing, but they wore out faster and didn’t produce as fine an illustration.

St. Andrews town

This is not one of my prints — but a lovely one showing the medieval part of the town.

I’m kind of a minimalist with decorating. I like things to have clean lines, with few flourishes and distractions. To me a clean table is an attractive table. I don’t like knick-knacks sitting around. Part of that is my ADD which was only diagnosed officially a few years ago. Obviously, I had figured out ways to cope with it by then, and my preference for simplicity is one of those coping mechanisms. When I was a teacher, I put very few posters, pictures, etc. and I tried to keep clutter under control because a messy or overcrowded room makes me uncomfortable. This is also beneficial for children who have or border on ADD or ADHD by removing distractions and too much visual stimulation.

Curtain and drapes are not in my house either. The probably should be with the cold weather we’ve been having, but I like the clean lines of a window, especially when it frames the outdoors, and fortunately in our case that pretty much excludes other houses, roads and buildings.

Some people might think my decorating is bland, but it suits my husband and me and makes my home a comfortable place to live.

