Tags

, , ,

Often, our blogs have taglines. But what if humans did, too? What would your tagline be?

I had to figure out what a tagline was exactly. I could easily borrow Nike’s “Just Do It!” and I often do to get myself moving to the next thing.

My mind and I often are at odds about this, that and the other. It is actually easier for me to make a big decision than a little one. So a simple phrase like “Do the next right thing,” keeps me moving. When I have a clear goal, or a strict timetable, I operate a lot more efficiently, but left to my own devices, I sometime flail around trying to decide what needs to be done. In retirement, I try to impose a loose schedule on myself so that I don’t have to think about things too much; I just do them.

I like this quote by Henry David Thoreau: “Our life is frittered away by detail. Simplify, simplify.” The older I get, the more I see the wisdom in this. It’s like that book, Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff: It’s All Small Stuff. It’s true. There are simply lots of tasks we all have to do on a daily basis — why waste too much thought on them? Just get them out of the way, do them with diligence, and move on.

So when I’m not driving myself crazy sweating the small stuff, I try very hard to present for each moment of my life. (It’s hard.) So my tagline might be “Spending each minute, trying to stay in the moment.”

I will try to take Mr. Thoreau’s advice: “You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment.”

