Write whatever you normally write about, and weave in a book quote, film quote, or song lyric that’s been sticking with you this week.

No, you can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
But if you try sometime you find
You get what you need.

Who’d take RStones1969advice from the Rolling Stones, huh? Look at them in 1969! But an event during this past week made me think about their lyrics, about the fact that wanting something doesn’t make it happen, and that sometimes you just have to be patient or try another route.

My niece who’s in her late 30’s and her husband have been trying to adopt a baby for years, though private adoption channels. A couple of times it’s almost happened, then disappointment followed. Finally, just a day or two before Christmas, they got the baby girl they’d been waiting for. I know that prayers have gone up for many years for this to happen, but this time was the right time.

(My niece was unable to have more children after her triplets, 10 years ago, but she and her husband have always wanted more children, particularly a girl.)

I don’t know how many times in my life I’ve wanted something, and as hard as I’ve tried to get it, it just wasn’t happening. One goal we had almost thirty years ago was to buy land for a vineyard. We spent months looking, even put an offer on one plot, and nothing happened. Now, when we think about, we regard it as a pleasant dream, but I think the grower/winemaker and I are both glad that it didn’t happen.

When our kids were young, all four seven and under, we tried living in England for a while, the country where my husband was born. We were still in the vineyard state of mind, and again nothing worked out for us. But also we’d always harbored the thought, “might we be happier living in England where we had a larger extended family?” The answer turned out to be “no”. My husband ended up taking a job in his profession, and surprise, surprise, that company was eager to open an office in the US — and asked him to start it up. So we returned and haven’t regretted our decision at all.

Life has a funny way of giving you what you need at a given time — on life or God’s terms. So (despite the rest of the song), the Rolling Stones had it right in these lyrics!

Do you remember which album it was on? (I still have it, a bit worse for so many years of wear.)

lpBleed

 

 

 

